

DIVING CONTROL BOARD MEETING AGENDA

Attendees: See roster on next page

Date: Wednesday, May 1, 2024

Time: 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Location: Zoom Webinar, invitation was emailed

Health Sciences Building, T-269

TIME	TOPIC	LEAD	NOTES
2:00-	Meeting called to order	Aguilar	
2:05	 Approval of minutes from the last meeting 		
2:05-	Follow-up on action items from past	Love	
2:20	meetings		
	1. Dive Medical Officer resignation and		
	plans for identifying a replacement.		
2:20-	Diving Program status reports	As noted	
2:40	- Applied Physics Lab – Aguilar/ <i>Michel-</i>		
	Hart		
	- Aquatic & Fisheries Sciences –		
	Tornabene		
	- Friday Harbor Labs – <i>Kitaeff</i>		
	- General Program – <i>Love</i>		
	- Mechanical Engineering-Human Sub		
	Team – Maurer		
	- Employee Health – Stenberg		
	- Other		
2:40-	Diving Safety Program Statistics 2023	Love	
3:00		Kitaeff	
3:00-	AAUS Symposium update	Love	
3:10			
3:10-	Confined Water definition	Love	
3:20			
3:20-	Questions/Discussion	All	
3:30			
3:30	Adjourn meeting	Aguilar	

2024 DIVING CONTROL BOARD (DCB)*

	Voting Members	Scientific Diving Appointee	Official Appointee
1.	Paul Aguilar, Senior Field Engineer, Applied Physics Lab, Appointed DCB Chair	X	
2.	Eileen Bates, Graduate Student	X	
3.	Nicolas Michel-Hart, Senior Principal Engineer, Applied Physics Lab	X	
4.	Pema Kitaeff, Friday Harbor Laboratories Diving Officer, Environmental Health & Safety	X	
5.	Zara Llewellyn, Assistant Director for Research and Occupational Safety, Environmental Health & Safety		X
6.	Will Love, Diving Safety Officer, Environmental Health & Safety	Х	
7.	Benjamin Maurer, Faculty Advisor, Mechanical Engineering	Х	
8.	Luke Tornabene, Assistant Professor, School of Aquatic Fishery Sciences	Х	
9.	Becky Stenberg, Manager of Occupational Health Programs, Environmental Health & Safety		Х

^{*}OSHA requirements specify the majority of the voting members of the DCB must be scientific divers.

DCB Advisors:

- 1. Katia Harb, Senior Director, Environmental Health & Safety
- 2. Stephanie Harrington, Associate Dean, Planning & Initiative, College of the Environment
- 3. Betsy McKendry M.D.; Diving Medical Officer; Medical Advisor & Diving Physician
- 4. Anne Terry, ARNP; Nurse Practitioner, Environmental Health & Safety